I can’t believe Christmas is less than a week away. What I can believe is that my Calculus extra credit project and my computer science writing assignment is due in four days. And that I need to get Humans of NEST+m responses preferably by Wednesday. And that I should finish up that last college supplement by the end of tonight. And I need to read like 30 more pages of Crime and Punishment for tomorrow’s quiz.

Do you see the problem?

The only reason why winter was actually bearable during December was because I could look forward to all of the presents, the holiday specials, holiday gift shopping, the presents, the hot chocolate, my walks with my daddy during the night on Steinway Street, and the presents.

But everything changed when junior year came around.

Nights spent watching holiday specials were replaced with nights spent finishing up homework. Going out to buy holiday gifts are now done hastily or online (which isn’t as fun, IMO). Walking with my father on Steinway Street to enjoy the Christmas lights and music playing from the speakers doesn’t even happen anymore. The only thing that hasn’t changed is the presents, but still.

It bothers me so much knowing how much fun I had before junior year during this time of year. How am I supposed to watch all of my holiday specials Friday night? How am I supposed to wrap all of my Christmas gifts before Friday? Will I ever enjoy a nice walk in my neighborhood anytime soon?

I guess the only thing to do is hope next year is a bit lighter.

But I doubt it will be.

 

