In an effort to stay out of the politics that is still troubling many minds (including mine), I decided to write about the second most bothersome thing on my mind–the fact that I couldn’t see the supermoon this weekend.

Closest to the earth in nearly 70 years, this moon was special. Pictures, mostly from Europe, show it large and bright, looming behind buildings and bridges, and reminding me somewhat of the Death Star in the Rogue One movie posters. But, just like every other astronomical event that occurred in recent years–the meteoroid showers, the blood moons, the lunar eclipses–I never got to see it.

And do you know why? Because clouds. As always.

Clouds do make it difficult to see, but so do skyscrapers and city lights that illuminate the night. It’s one of the few things I hate about living in New York City. I haven’t seen a “starry night” in a bit more than six years since the time I first visited Bangladesh one summer vacation.

One of my most vivid memories from that trip was my first night there. I remember feeling a bit dizzy with awe peering up at the stars that sprinkled the night. But I can still picture the shape of the moon and the position of the stars, just as well as I can recall the “red star” (a.k.a. Mars) I accidentally stumbled upon a few years ago.

I wish, I really, really wish I could see something in the sky that’s actually special enough to add to that extremely short list of Shormie’s Most Memorable Moments (While Looking at the Sky). But maybe I need to face the fact that I’m just not so lucky when it comes to viewing these “once in a lifetime” events.  At least that would spare you, Reader, from another rant in December when there’s *surprise* another supermoon.

